NSCDC Emerges Overall Winners at Nigeria Opens

NSCDC emerged as the overall winners at the just concluded Nigeria Taekwondo Open Championships which was held between 9 – 11 December 2017 at the indoor Gymnasium Hall, Package B National Stadium FCT Abuja.

In attendance were a total of 190 entries from 40 teams, which was made up of 3 countries, 21 states, 2 universities, 8 clubs, 2 para-militaries and 2 Armed Forces. The gender breakdown was 134 males to 53 females.


The teams included: Countries – Nigeria, Cameroon, Niger Republic; Para-miliatry – NSSDC, Nigeria Customs; Armed forces – Nigeria Army, Nigeria Police; Universities – University of Jos, University of Benin, NABA Poly, A.B.U Zaria, Nigerian states – Abia, Anambra, Bayelsa, Borno, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, FCT, Imo, Kano, Kebbi, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Taraba. Private Clubs – Classix TKD Academy, Dragon Temple Martial Arts, Fortress TKD, Kenny Martial Arts Academy, Legendary Club, Niger Club ATA, Q-Madi and Vintage Taekwondo Club

Daedo electronic body and head gear was used for the event. Also, Kyeorugi in the seniors’ category was the only event adopted for this edition and the world classification was used for the weight division. 25 National Referees and 35 Volunteers were enlisted for the tournament.

Winners went home with medals, medal certificate and NTF ranking points. Furthermore, trophies were given to the best male and female athletes, best referee, best coach and best team of the event.

25 teams out of 40 teams got on the medal table in the first ever Nigeria Taekwondo Open Championships with NSCDC topping the medal table with 4 Gold medals and 1 Silver. Niger Republic won 3 Gold medals on the final day of competition to merge second overall with a total of 3 gold and 1 silver medal. Q-Madi, a Lagos based club, came third overall with 2 gold and 1 silver.

Niger Republic, who won three gold medals and 1 silver from six athletes, won the best team of the tournament award, which is calculated based on a weighted ratio of number of medals won, type of medals won and number of team athletes, went to Niger Republic . Q-madi came in as 1st runner up while NSCDC were 2nd runner up.

The best male athlete trophy went to Djibo Kadri of Niger Republic who took Oyo’s Chukwudi Nzelu to a golden point round via a last minute snatch head kick while the best female trophy went to Elizabeth Anyanacho of FCT who defeated African medallist and National Champion, Dennis Ifeoma in the female -67kg finals. Best Coach Award went to John Victor of NSCDC, who is also one of the National Taekwondo Coaches and whose NSCDC team have emerged top in major competitions across the country for the past 5 years. Runner up was Barrister Ahmed Adetola-Kazeem, the coach of Lagos’based Q-Madi.

Referee of the tournament award went to Rosemary Ugwu of Delta State.

For Michael Ugboko, senior lecturer with the NIS and one of the officiating officials, the symbolism of the event could not be overlooked.

 “It was a historic event because since 1987, when the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation was floated known back then as Taekwondo Association of Nigeria, no past administration had organized an NTF owned National Tournament. Thus, this event has made history and we are very proud of it”

President of the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation, Mrs Margaret Elizabeth Binga, was elated at the success of the event.

“The final verdict from the feedback I have gotten is that the historic event was successful, well-organized and competitive! We thank all our participants who made this possible, including the Ministry of Youths & Sports, Nigeria Olympic Committee, Media, Medical Department, Referees & NTF Secretariat whose contributions made it a huge success.”

The three-day event was organized and fully bankrolled by the Nigeria Taekwondo Federation and is an NTF-B ranked event, under the new ranking system designed by the NTF for sanctioned events.